If you can’t stand the heat…

Tonight I went to a cooking class along with some other students in my program. The class was held at this cute little place in Jaume called: Cook and Taste. The main goal of tonight was to learn how to make a Spanish meal. Our meal consisted of 4 traditional Spanish courses and it was all made by us CIEE students with the help of a cooking instructor. While making the dinner took a while and our instructor probably hated us by the time we were done. it was all worth it. Our dinner was definitely one of the best meals I’ve had here. Now when I am back home in California, I will cook a spanish dinner for my parents. I bet they’re really excited about it.

Courses:

1. Tomato Gazpacho.  I helped puree the mixture and put aioli, hazelnuts and walnuts with grated cheese on top of the gazpacho. It was very tasty!

2. Tortilla de Patatas. This dish was like a potato omelette with tomato bread on the side. I prepared the tomato bread. This included rubbing garlic around the whole edge of the bread and smothering fresh tomato seeds and tomato bits onto the bread, topping it off with some salt.

3. Paella Valencian Style. Paella is a traditional dish of Spain, and was actually originated in Valencia, Spain. Tonight was my first time trying paella, so I am happy that I got to try it Valencian style/ the way it was originally made. Also, paella is fairly expensive around Barcelona so it was a bonus that not only did we get it for free, but I now know how to make it for anyone! The paella took a while to cook but it was SOOOOO DELICIOUS. The chicken was fresh and the rice marinated in so many flavors, from various spices and veggies, that each bite was a new, intriguing surprise for my tastebuds.

4. Crema Catalana. This was our dessert. Emma, Shreyas, Shivam, and I were responsible for making this one. Emma and I cracked 12 eggs and whisked those with flour and sugar (SO MUCH SUGAR) and added it to the milk, lemon, and cinnamon mixture. We refrigerated this for an hour or so and then when it was all done, we glazed the top with a blowtorch.

In the short amount of time that I had at this cooking class, I actually learned more about the cooking processes, like what order to do things in, that different oil is used for different things, that you can’t just use egg whites for everything, and that proper chopping takes practice. Oh and I also learned how to make an awesome Tortilla de Patatas…I’m eager to try this one out for breakfast in the near future.

Here are some more pics from our cooking class:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “If you can’t stand the heat…

Leave a Reply

