Sitges: California-like Beach Town

Two weeks ago, I moved into a new apartment. My friend Juliana, from my home University in the states, lives a ten minute walk away from me. On that Friday she called me up, and next thing I knew, we were on a train headed out to Sitges, a beach town 30 minutes away from Barcelona. I took my first step off of the train and wasn’t sure whether I was in California or some secret paradise.

Prior to actually going to Sitges, I had heard stories from my friends who had paid a visit. They only had great things to say. I’m really happy that Juliana gave me that call, because the day we went was perfect.

Since Sitges is right by the water, I can imagine the seafood paella must be delicious. I wouldn’t know though because the restaurant we tried eating at said the paella was 13.90 euros/person and it had to be eaten by two people. Juliana wasn’t hungry, so I opted for a cheap version of a Mexican restaurant,El Panchita. Then again I have a fairly high taste for Mexican food, being from California and all. Oh…and I am in Spain, not Mexico so what did I expect.

Ok, time for pictures!

-We visited the rock walls and caught a beautiful sunset there.

-Checked out the Sitges church

-Found an AMAZING Paneria where we enjoyed pastries and a nice, relaxing cup of  “cafe con leche”

-Wandered around the streets and simply enjoyed each other’s company!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now for the ultimate lesson, and if you’re my friend on facebook, you’ve probably seen this.

If there is one thing I've learned in this whole experience, it is: Explore.You don't need to travel to the other part of the world. Things are waiting for you right outside your door. Stop setting limitations for yourself. Go and see what is out there. Take a walk, go for a hike, take a train and get off at a random stop. There are millions of things waiting to be found by you. Take advantage of it. Go get lost!

If there is one thing I’ve learned in this whole experience, it is: Explore.You don’t need to travel to the other part of the world. Things are waiting for you right outside your door. Stop setting limitations for yourself. Go and see what is out there. Take a walk, go for a hike, take a train and get off at a random stop. There are millions of things waiting to be found by you. Take advantage of it. Go get lost!

Leave a Reply

