What falls down, must get up.

always-get-up

 

 My dad, being the witty man that he is, has oodles of quirky yet insightful sayings, one of them being:

“I’ve been down so long it looks like up to me.”

In reflecting upon the past experiences this semester and well, more so the past few weeks, this quote has resonated with me. I hope that in reading this post, you can relate.

  Well it certainly has been a while since I’ve had my last blog post. As always things get busy and it becomes a bit harder to take time aside and reflect on things. A few weeks ago was the end of midterms week which subsequently meant the beginning of Spring Break. For many students at my school, Spring Break entails vacations to warm places like Mexico, Central and South America, and even Europe and Asia…really anywhere to escape the New England cold weather/long winter season we are having.

During this week, I was supposed to be on campus, as I would be training with the Track and Field team for our outdoor season. My spring break and the weeks following however went a different direction after I landed in the Emergency Room for dehydration, which caused me to pass out and hit my head twice, once on the wall and once on the ground. I describe the fall as a a basketball (my head) dropping from 6ft and not bouncing back once it hit the ground…pretty graphic, I know. I was greeted at the hospital by my uncle and suite mate and received support throughout the weeks from family, team members, friends, employers and the athletic staff.

A few days after my trip to the ER, I took a concussion test and was diagnosed with a concussion. Symptoms of a concussion include vomiting, nausea, dizziness, irritability, depression, sensitivity to light and sound, fatigue, and balance problems. While my symptoms were mild, I still felt out of it. After receiving the news that I couldn’t compete this track season and had to take a break from classes and daily activities, I was overwhelmed with frustration and confusion. It was hard enough to have this injury but having to sacrifice day to day activities with the uncertainty of when I would get better was emotionally trying.

While this concussion was hard at times, it was a blessing in disguise. I was able to take much needed rest from the stressful college atmosphere, was able to see friends who I haven’t seen all semester, meet and spend time with new people, and was able to take sometime for meditation and self reflection..

It’s been 3 weeks since I bumped my head and I am feeling so much better. While I am able to do somethings though, I still have my trainers and others keeping watch over me and my progress. The toughest thing about concussions is that they are injuries that are not visible to the average human, like a broken leg in a cast is for example. In the past few weeks, it has been difficult communicating to people all that I’ve been going through…trying to take the rest that I need while also living life and doing things I want to do. I am involved in many different organizations on campus and friends in both organizations didn’t understand why I could attend the event of one organization but not another’s.

Now that I’m feeling better, I hope that the people who haven’t been totally in the know with my situation take some time to understand it, because it can be frustrating for me. It is a fine line between knowing what I can and cannot handle, but that line needs to be gently tested in order for me to see how I am progressing. So, to anyone who has concerns for me, just know that I’m doing what I can handle and and am not pushing it. All I ask is for you to have faith that I can make good decisions for myself. I want to get better! 🙂

With a few weeks left in the semester, though loaded with work, I am eager to finish strong. Still figuring things out for the summer and what I want to do with life, but then again, who isn’t?

Hope your weeks are going well!

Christianne

Leave a Reply

